# REORGANIZATION MEETING DECEMBER 4, 2019

The Board of Education of the Wilkes-Barre Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Wednesday, December 4, 2019. President Joseph A. Caffrey called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M. and announced that the Board is meeting this day for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania, as amended.

Superintendent Brian Costello led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Board Secretary Thomas Telesz called the roll:

**7 MEMBERS PRESENT:** Atherton, Evans, Patla, Quinn, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

President Caffrey opened nominations for a Temporary President.

**Rev. Walker moved**, to nominate **Denise Thomas** as Temporary President. There were no further nominations.

Rev. Walker moved to close the nominations seconded by Ms. Patla.

All in favor of Ms. Thomas as Temporary President – 7 Ayes

At this time Judge Amesbury administered the Oath of Offices to the recently elected Board Members: Mark Atherton, Beth Anne Harris, Therese Schiowitz and Rev. Shawn Walker. Magistrate Dotzel administered the Oath of Office to: John Quinn.

Temporary President Thomas opened nominations for President for the ensuing year.

**Rev. Walker moved,** to nominate **Joe Caffrey** for President. **Ms. Patla moved** to nominate **Shawn Walker** for President. There were no further nominations.

**Rev. Walker motioned, seconded by Ms. Thomas** to close the nominations for President. All in favor to close nominations for President – 9 Ayes

The Viva-Voce vote for President for the ensuing year was as follows:

Atherton: Joe Caffrey
Evans: Joe Caffrey
Harris: Joe Caffrey
Patla: Shawn Walker
Quinn: Joe Caffrey
Schiowitz: Shawn Walk

Schiowitz: Shawn Walker Thomas: Joe Caffrey Walker: Joe Caffrey Caffrey: Joe Caffrey

Joseph Caffrey was elected Board President for the 2020 year.

President Caffrey thanked the Board for their vote of confidence and stated he is humbled and honored to serve as the Board President for the ensuing year.

**President Caffrey** took over the meeting and opened nominations for Vice President for the ensuing year.

Mr. Evans moved, to nominate Denise Thomas for Vice President. Mr. Quinn moved to nominate Shawn Walker for Vice President. Melissa Patla moved to nominate Mark Atherton for Vice President.

There were no further nominations.

**Rev. Walker motioned, seconded by Mr. Evans** to close the nominations for Vice President. All in favor of closing nominations for Vice President – 9 Ayes

The Viva Voce vote was as follows:

Atherton: Denise Thomas
Evans: Denise Thomas
Harris: Mark Atherton
Patla: Mark Atherton
Quinn: Shawn Walker
Schiowitz: Shawn Walker
Thomas: Denise Thomas
Walker: Denise Thomas
Caffrey: Denise Thomas

## Denise Thomas was elected Vice President for the ensuing year.

Rev. Walker stated it has been a pleasure to serve as Vice President for the past two years. It was definitely a learning experience to serve in that capacity. It was a pleasure working along side Mr. Caffrey. We leave it in good hands with Denise Thomas and I am looking forward to seeing what you will continue to do working with Joe Caffrey. I am here to support this Board, students and taxpayers in every way I can.

**Ms. Patla moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas,** that all meetings be conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in the Reorganization Meeting of December 2, 1981, as amended December 2, 1999 and March 10, 2010 including Order of Business. The vote was as follows: **All in favor - 9 Ayes** 

**Ms. Patla moved, seconded by Mr. Evans** that the Regular Board Meetings by held the second Monday of the month at 6:00 p.m. The vote was as follows: **All in favor – 9 Ayes** 

**Ms. Thomas moved, seconded by Ms. Patla t**hat the officers of the Board be authorized to draw orders for payrolls and for payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other pertinent bills as they come due. The vote was as follows:

All in favor - 9 Ayes

**Rev. Walker moved, seconded by Ms. Patla,** to nominate **Denise Thomas** to be the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly and to be the Section 4 Local Board Liaison.

The vote was as follows:

All in favor - 9 Ayes

# Rev. Walker presented Resolution #1

#### **RESOLUTION #1**

WHEREAS, **Melissa Patla** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, her term of office expires in December, 2019; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoints **Melissa Patla** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December, 2022.

Rev. Walker moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas to adopt this Resolution. All in favor: 9 Ayes

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 4, 2019

## Mr. Atherton presented Resolution #2

## **RESOLUTION #2**

WHEREAS, **James Geiger** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December, 2019; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoints **Shawn Walker** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December, 2022.

Mr. Atherton moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas to adopt this Resolution. All in favor: 9 Ayes

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 4, 2019

# Mr. Caffrey presented Resolution #3

#### **RESOLUTION #3**

WHEREAS, **Dr. James Susek** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December, 2021; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoints **Beth Anne Harris** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December, 2021.

Mr. Caffrey moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas to adopt this Resolution. All in favor: 9 Ayes

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 4, 2019

# Mr. Evans presented Resolution #4

#### **RESOLUTION #4**

BE IT RESOLVED, that **Suzanne Saporito** be appointed Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education to serve until the Reorganization Meeting of December 2020, under the provisions of Section 434 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Assistant Secretary be bonded, and premium for such bond to be paid by the School District.

Mr. Evans moved, seconded by Rev. Walker to adopt this Resolution. All in favor: 9 Ayes

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 4, 2019

Rev. Walker made a Motion to adjourn at 6:25 p.m., seconded by Ms. Patla. All in favor: 9 Ayes